
what work you can do and other things about 
your family situation.

You must seek full-time work immediately if you are 
approved for DWP.

Employment services
Parents will get help to find and keep a job.

DWP services will help find work that fits your 
employment plan.
DWP services may include help for you to 
identify and address family issues, which may 
prevent or delay your being able to get a job.
Your employment plan may include limited 
training that you can complete in four or  
fewer months.

Penalties for not following 
DWP rules
If you do not cooperate with your employment plan 
or child support requirements, your case will be 
closed. You are not eligible for any other cash programs 
until your four months of DWP end. Contact your 
job counselor or financial worker if you have a good 
reason for not following the rules.

Verifications
You and each person in your family must submit 
information that proves:

Who you are 
Where you live
What your income and resources are.













The Diversionary Work Program (DWP) is a four-
month program that provides services and supports 
to eligible families to help them move immediately to 
work rather than go on welfare. 

The four months of DWP do not count towards the 
60-month lifetime limit for the Minnesota Family 
Investment Program (MFIP), the state’s Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program.  

Who is eligible
DWP is for families with children or pregnant 
women. Most families who apply for assistance will be 
on this program for four months.

Eligibility criteria:

You must meet the income eligibility test
Your family may have up to $2,000 in assets.

Ask a county financial worker for information about 
other DWP eligibility requirements.

Supports for working families
DWP supports your family while you work or 
look for work. With DWP, you may be eligible for 
supports, such as:

Help with rent, utilities or other housing costs
Personal needs allowance
Child care assistance. 

Parents are expected to work
All parents, including both parents in a two-
parent family, are expected to develop and sign an 
employment plan before your family is approved 
for DWP. Your employment plan will consider 











Minnesota’s Diversionary
Work Program - DWP 
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To get help with your living expenses, you will also have 
to give proof of your housing costs.

Who is not eligible
Some families are excluded from DWP. These include 
families with:   

All adults over 60 years old
No adults who receive assistance
Disabled adults or severely disabled children            
Teen parents who do not have a high school diploma 
or GED and wish to finish school
Some single parents with a child under 
12 weeks old
One or more caregivers who have been on MFIP or 
DWP in the past 12 months
One or more caregivers who have received 60 months 
of MFIP or TANF
A caregiver who is disqualified from DWP or MFIP 
due to fraud.

Other supports  
You may be eligible for Food Support, health care 
and child care assistance while on DWP.  
After the four months of DWP, you may be eligible 
for MFIP. You may continue to be eligible for Food 
Support, health care and child care assistance. 

How do you appeal?
If you do not agree with the action the county takes 
on your application, tell your county worker. Ask your 
worker to explain the reasons for the action.

You may see the policy manuals, rules and laws that give 
the reasons for the action. If you still do not agree, you 
may appeal. Your county worker will help you ask for an 
appeal hearing or contact:

Minnesota Department of Human Services
Appeals Office
PO Box 64941

St. Paul, MN 55164-0941
Metro: (651) 431-3600 (Voice)

Outstate: (800) 657-3510
TTY/TDD: (800) 627-3529

Fax: (651) 431-7523

Bring any facts to the hearing that will help you 
explain why you do not agree. You may bring a friend 
or a lawyer. If you want a lawyer, ask your county worker 
for information about free legal services. You may bring 
people to the hearing to give information about the facts. 
After you and the county have talked about your case, 
the appeals referee will decide the case. You will get the 
decision in the mail.
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If you are still not satisfied, you have 30 days to appeal to 
the state district court.

Your right to privacy
Most of the time, the facts asked for by the human 
services office are called “private.” This means you may 
see the facts about yourself, but they are not open to the 
public. Certain other government agencies may see them 
too. You have the right to question what you think is 
wrong in your file.

For more facts about data privacy, ask your worker, or 
write the Minnesota Department of Human Services.

Your right to file a complaint 
If you feel the county or the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services treated you differently in the handling of 
a public assistance application or payment because of race, 
color, national origin, political beliefs, religion, creed, sex, 
sexual orientation, public assistance status, age or disability 
(including access to buildings or programs), you may file a 
complaint with one or more of these agencies: 

Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Office for Equal Opportunity 

PO Box 64997
St. Paul, MN 55164-0997
(651) 431-3040 (Voice)

(651) 431-3041 (TTY/TTD)

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
190 East 5th Street, Suite 700 

St. Paul, MN 55101 
(800) 657-3704 (Voice)

 (651) 296-1283 (TTY/TDD) 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
Office for Civil Rights, Region V 

233 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 240 
Chicago, IL 60601

 (312) 886-2359 (Voice)
(312) 353-5693 (TTY/TDD)

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Director, Office of Civil Rights 

Room 326-W, Whitten Building 
1400 Independence Avenue, SW 
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 

(202) 720-5964 (Voice or TTY/TDD) 

This information is available in other forms to people 
with disabilities by calling your county worker. For 
TTY/TDD users, contact your county worker through the 
Minnesota Relay at 711 or (800) 627-3529. For the 
Speech-to-Speech Relay, call (877) 627-3848.


