DHS-2707-ENG  4-06

Facts on Voluntarily Quitting Your Job
If You Are on Food Support

Purpose
This form tells what could happen if you are on Food Support and voluntarily quit your job.

Penalty - not getting food support benefits @
f

If you or someone else in your household has a job and quits without a good reason,
your household might not get food support benefits. If your household loses food
support benefits because someone quit a job, ask your financial worker about how to become
eligible. (See Minnesota Department of Human Services Combined Manual 0028.30.09)
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The penalty does not apply if the person who quit a job:
* Wias fired, or forced to leave the job, or had hours cut back by the employer
* Was self-employed

* Lefta job that was less than 20 hours per week or the job paid less than the minimum federal wage times 20
hours per week.

The penalty also does not apply if you can prove the person had "good reason" to quit the job.

These are "good reasons" to quit a job without losing food support benefits:
* Circumstances beyond a wage-earner's control, such as: illness, illness of another member that requires the
client's presence, a household emergency, no transportation to the job, or no available child care

* Discrimination by the employer based on age, race, sex, color, handicap, religious beliefs, national origin, or
political beliefs

* Poor conditions at work, such as not getting paid on time or unreasonable risk to health and safery
* Going to school at least half time

* The job is considered unsuitable employment because of such things as working conditions or requirements,
wages, transportation, etc.

* Retirement

* Getting another job at least 20 hours per week or making ar least the minimum wage times 20 hours per
week (even if the new job does not work out for reasons beyond the worker's control)

* The job was one where workers normally move from one employer to another, such as migrant or seasonal
farm labor, or construction work

The penalty might not apply if you change the Principal Wage Earner:

Food Support households with children may change the person they designated as the Principal Wage Earner.
You may do this at recertification or whenever someone enters or leaves the household. All the adults in your
household must approve this change. If you have questions about this choice and how it affects penalties for
voluntarily quitting your job, ask your worker.

The penalty will apply if a person who failed to comply moves in with another unit and is that unit's Principal
Woage Earner.

This information is available in other forms to people with disabilities by calling your county
worker. For TTY/TDD users, contact your county worker through the Minnesota Relay at 711 or
(800) 627-3529. For the Speech-to-Speech Relay, call (877) 627-3848.




